North Batan, Batanes

comments 13
Travel

Day 1/3 of my trip to Batanes, Philippines!

Finally! After constantly bugging my mom about visiting Batanes, we were finally able to book a 4 days and 3 nights tour with Batanes Travel and Tours via Uniorient Travel.

Batanes consists of 10 islands but only 3 are inhabited, namely Batan, Sabtang, and Itbayat. For this tour, we only visited Batan and Sabtang island. On our first day, we toured the northern part of Batan island.

Mt. Carmel Chapel

mtcarmel

mtcarmel3

Mt. Carmel

Mt. Carmel

My mom and her friends.

Mt. Carmel is the prettiest chapel I have ever seen! I wasn’t able to take pictures, but inside there was a lot of stained glass art and paintings.

Japanese Hideout

JapaneseHideout

The Japanese had forced the locals into labor in order to create this hideout during World War II. Each exit was strategically placed so that the Japanese could see any incoming attacks.

The entrance to the Japanese hideout looked like a cave. Inside it was pitch black and a bit muddy since a typhoon had just passed. Our tour guide led us carefully with her flashlight while showing us the different paths inside the tunnel. The photo above shows where we exited. We had to crawl through that small opening!

Valugan Boulder Beach

Valugan Boulder Beach

Valugan Boulder Beach

Boulder beach

Top from Verano PH (IG: @veranoph)

Top from Verano PH (IG: @veranoph)

This was my favorite from Day 1! Our tour guide said that the boulders came from the eruption of Mt. Iraya (a volcano in Batanes) way way back.

I think what made me enjoy this beach so much was how different it looked from the usual beaches we see, and the way the waves crashed against the rocks. It was therapeutic.

Vayang Rolling Hills

Vayang

Vayang

My mom says hi!

My mom says hi!

That perfect little hill top!

That perfect little hill top!

Another picture perfect part of the trip! I think it’s pretty obvious how much I love mountains, and mini ones are just as majestic to me! You also get a stunning view of the unbelievably blueblueblue waters that surround the island.

Naidi Hills Lighthouse

Naidi

Naidi

Naidi

View from the top of the lighthouse!

View from the top of the lighthouse!

The Naidi Hills Lighthouse was our last stop for the day. We went to the top of the lighthouse which involved climbing 4 flights of stairs! It was windy at the top and the view was really really pretty!

North Batan really took my breath away and I couldn’t wait to see the rest of what our tour had to offer! Stay tuned for Day 2/3 of my Batanes trip!

May 15, 2015

13 Comments

  1. thirdworldtrekker says

    Hey! Where did you guys stay? 🙂 Probably going alone and need all the intel (especially info on how I could travel cheap). Thanks a bunch!

    Like

    • Hi! We stayed at Brandon’s Lodge in Basco (8k for 3 nights, if I’m not mistaken), though I don’t really recommend it. The staff was nice but the place itself is quite old and not very well maintained. I suggest you check out Amboy’s or Bernardo’s hotel. A bit more expensive than Brandon’s, but with good reason. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

